Cutlab3d

ImageCutlab3d1

Abstract :
Pedro Santos – Fraunhofer IGD
CultLab3D, the world-wide first automatic modular 3D digitization pipeline, targets efficient mass digitization of 3D geometry, texture and optical material properties, reducing time and cost to a fraction of today’s effort for manual digitization and requiring minimal human interaction.
Acquisition of 3D geometry, texture and optical material properties of cultural heritage artifacts still consumes an intolerable amount of time, and forces humans to dedicate their full attention to the process. The reason is that acquisition is performed in numerous steps to achieve a complete, potentially watertight reconstruction. Acquiring optical material properties for the whole object surface additionally boosts the effort. Each step consists at least of precisely positioning and, where necessary, recalibrating the acquisition sensor. Both steps involve human error, accumulating over the single steps. More importantly, the right trade-off between inter-view overlap and efficient and complete coverage of the object surface is crucial, making an optimum hard to find. Yet another problem is lack of enduring digital conservation with sufficient provenance data tracking and location-independent access, once objects are digitized. We propose CultLab3D, an automated, modular 3D digitization pipeline, targeting efficient mass digitization of 3D geometry, texture and optical material properties, reducing time and cost to a fraction of today’s effort for manual digitization and requiring minimal human interaction.

Images :

ImageCutlab3d2ImageCutlab3d3ImageCutlab3d4

Project Authors :
Pedro Santos pedro.santos@igd.fraunhofer.de
Martin Ritz martin.ritz@igd.fraunhofer.de
Reimar Tausch reimar.tausch@igd.fraunhofer.de
Hendrick Schmedt hendrick.schmedt@igd.fraunhofer.de
Rafael Monroy Rodriguez
rafael.monroy.rodriguez@igd.fraunhofer.de
Dieter Fellner dieter.fellner@gris.tu-darmstadt.de

Institutions involved :
Frauhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Resarch, GERMANY, link
Technische Universität Darmstadt, Fachbereich Informatik, Graphisch-Interaktive Systeme, GERMANY, link